My first sip of Coca-Cola.

Thanda Matlab Coke.

In India, we call Coke as ‘Thanda’. Yes. That’s the power of marketing and branding that The Coca-Cola Company has done in India. I don’t what do they call in other countries.

But yes, I remember Coke used to come for just Rs.5 previously. Yes, a small glass bottle at Rs.5/-

Okay, enough information lets come to the topic. It was summering in 1998 and I had just seen a great Coca-Cola Ad on TV. Not just Coca-Cola, it was Aamir Khan drinking Coca-Cola. You can have a look below. You will then understand my feelings.

 

Okay, so this small child has seen the first Coca-Cola Ad on Doordarshan. That was enough to make me fight at home. And Indian parents do not agree to their child so easily. It’s like you crawl, cry, shout, beg, get unconscious, run around then you will get. Yes, that’s the strategy which every Indian child knows by default. So I too did the same and got Rs. 5 from my dad and ran to the nearby shop.

I asked – “Uncleeeeeee!¬†Aamir Khan jo Peeta¬†hai who dena”

That guy couldn’t understand. Then he showed me his fridge. And I was mesmerised by the Translucent glass brown colour water shining and that shape of the bottle. That was like my first crush.

That’s it all the drama was till this. He opened the bottle gave me the straw and I drank it.

Then a whole new melodrama started but that was within me. I was trying to guess the taste- it was salty as well as sweet. But all I know that gave me so much fun inside my mouth and my stomach, I can never forget.

Thank You, Coca-Cola for my first aerated drink.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

